Lemont Center for the Arts

To enrich the cultural landscape of Lemont by fostering the production and appreciation of the arts.

Kelly A Kopacz – Local Artist Feature

This month at Lemont Center for the Arts, check out work by local artist Kelly A. Kopacz. Kelly tells us her two favorite artists are Sandro Botticelli and Paul Cézanne. Kelly’s work will be on display through October 31, 2013. Be sure to stop in and check out Kelly’s work!

Kelly A. Kopacz

Kelly A. Kopacz

Vitals:

Kelly A. Kopacz (34), born and raised in Berwyn IL., currently residing in Countryside, Illinois. Attended Morton West High School in Berwyn. Participated in classes at the Art Institute of Chicago. Received a Bachelor of Arts Degree from Concordia University in River Forest, Illinois.

Media

My work consists of many mediums such as acrylics, ink and water color pencils to name a few.

 Artist Statement

Art is my way of escaping reality into a nonjudgmental world.

Winning a City of Berwyn art contest in grade school began my passion. Since then, art has become a part of who I am. Art fills me with a sense of accomplishment and has proven a most amenable vehicle for translating my vision to reality.

I create art pieces from the inside out. As creativity hits me with a jolt, I grab on and ride it out. I work consciously employing both traditional and innovative techniques with a hint of symmetry. The free flowing nature in creating art work frees my imagination and provides many opportunities for happy accidents.

I have been drawing my whole life, and as I age, I find it to be more important and fulfilling than ever. As time goes on, I continue to explore my artistic talents to see which direction it will take me.

Share your process and/or technique

The current technique that can be seen in my work is texture. The texture is achieved by the use of layering one acrylic color of paint one on top of each other, until the perfect look is achieved.

Night at the Beach, 16x20, Acrylics, ©Kelly A Kopacz

Night at the Beach, 16×20, Acrylics, ©Kelly A Kopacz

What inspires you?

Everyday life inspires me to create.

Where can one view your art in person?

Currently my work can be seen in person at the Lemont Center for the Arts and the Addison Library for the month of October. Also, arrangements can be made by request.

Bath Time, 16 x 12, Acrylics ©Kelly A Kopacz

Bath Time, 16 x 12, Acrylics ©Kelly A Kopacz

Where/how can one purchase your art?

My art work can be purchased by contacting me for more details.

 Organizational Affiliations:

· Alliance of Fine Art (Board Member – 2ND Vice Director / Newsletter)

· La Grange Art League

· Elmhurst Artists’ Guild

· Lemont Artists Guild

· Addison Art Guild

· Celeste

 I have been in a variety of solo and group exhibits from the Lemont Artist Guild member show to a Creative Rising International show in New York.

Fill Me Up, 12x9,  Acrylics, ©Kelly A Kopacz

Fill Me Up, 12×9, Acrylics, ©Kelly A Kopacz

To Contact Kelly:

Kelly A. Kopacz

www.kopaczonlinestudio.com

myart79@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

This program is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.