Lemont Center for the Arts

To enrich the cultural landscape of Lemont by fostering the production and appreciation of the arts.

Artist of the Month January 2015 – Judy Jamrisko

My name is Judy Jamrisko.  I am proud to call myself a wife, a mom, a teacher (retired) and now an artist. I am a true believer of the clich’e “it is never to late to follow your dreams”, even if you are a late bloomer.  I first started teaching when I was thirty-eight.  I only began calling myself an artist in my sixties.

Art in one form or another has always been part of my life as long as I can remember.  Mostly self-taught, with only a couple of basic art classes in high school and college, I have worked the past five years with artist/mentor Fred Holly.  I worked with him first using Prisma colored pencils, which contain bees wax to allow blending and layering of colors, and now in acrylic paints.
Prisma pencils were new to me.  I enjoy this medium, especially when my subjects are animals.  However, when asked what type of artist I consider myself I generally call myself a landscape artist using acrylic paints.  I am inspired by nature.  Always looking for a good view, a gnarly tree, or a flowing stream.  What a grand adventure this has been.

image01 image02 image03 image04 image05 image06

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 2, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

This program is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.